Institute

Studying

Research


 

Writing a doctoral thesis at the IMS

The IMS offers the possibility of writing a doctoral thesis to appropriate and interested candidates. For doctoral theses written at the IMS the title of a "Doctor of Philosophy" (Dr. phil.) is awarded. For theses that have a stronger orientation towards Computer Science is is possible to apply for the title of a "Doctor of Natural Sciences" (Dr. rer. nat.) at the  Promotionsausschuss.

Prerequisite for writing a doctoral thesis at the IMS is a qualificatory degree (Diploma or Master) in the field of Computational Linguistics, Natural Language Processing, Linguistics, or Computer Science.

A doctoral thesis can be developed while working at the IMS as a scientist or in a project funded by, e.g. the DFG. Other possibilities are the Graduate Academy of the University of Stuttgart (GRADUS) or the Module of the Graduierten-Kollegs (MGK) of the SFB 372.

Internationale students can find information about the possibility of writing a doctoral thesis at the Univer5sity of Stuttgart on the web pages of the Center of International Affairs (IA) der Universität Stuttgart informieren.

The University of Stuttgart is interested in increasing the percentage of women working in research areas at the University. Thus, there is a special Mentoring program for women who want to gain a higher scientific qualification (doctoral degree or state doctorate).

Everyone who wants to gain a doctoral degree at the Universit of Stuttgart has to follow the regulations stated in the Promotionsordnung (2011).

Any further questions regarding the topic of gaining a doctoral degree at the IMS can be posed to the Student advice at the IMS or searched for on the pages of the University concerning the topic of docoral theses.

Institut

Studium

Forschung


 

Promotion am IMS

Das IMS bietet interessierten und geeigneten Kandidaten die Möglichkeit zur Promotion. Doktorarbeiten, die am IMS entstehen wird im Normalfall der Titel eines "Doktors der Philosophie" (Dr. phil.) verliehen. Hat die Arbeit eine deutlich stärkere Ausrichtung hinsichtlich des Forschungsgebeites der informatik, dann kann auch der Titel eines "Doktors der Naturwissenschaften" (Dr. rer. nat.) durch den  Promotionsausschuss verliehen werden.

Eine wesentliche Voraussetzung für die Zulassung zur Promotion am IMS ist ein qualifizierender Abschluss (Diplom oder Master) im Bereich der Computerlinguistik, der Natürlichen Sprachverarbeitung, der Linguistik oder der Informatik.

Eine Doktorarbeit kann aus der Forschungsarbeit hervorgehen, wenn man am IMS als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter angestellt ist oder in einem Projekt, welches beispielsweise durch die DFG gefördert wird, beschäftigt ist. Weitere Möglichkeiten zur Promotion sind die Graduiertenakademie der Universität Stuttgart (GRADUS) oder Module des Graduierten-Kollegs (MGK) des SFB 372.

Internationale Studenten können sich auf den Web-Seiten des Internationales Zentrums (IA) der Universität Stuttgart über Möglichkeiten zur Promotion informieren.

Die Universität Stuttgart ist sehr daran interessiert, den Anteil an Frauen in der Forschung zu erhöhen. Dazu wurde ein spezielles Mentoring Program für Frauen für diejenigen eingerichtet, die eine höhere wissenschaftliche Laufbahn anstreben.

Allen Doktorander, die eine Promotion an der Universität Stuttgart anstreben, müssen sich an die Promotionsordnung (2011) der Universität Stuttgart halten.

Weitere Fragen zum Thema Promotion am IMS können durch die Studienberatung des IMS oder durch die Suche auf den Seiten der Universität bezüglich Promotion beantwortet werden.