Institute

Studying

Research


 

IMS GECO database

Type Corpus
Title IMS GECO database
Author Antje Schweitzer, Natalie Lewandowski

Description

VERSION 1.1 RELEASED!!!

GECO has been created to investigate phonetic convergence in German spontaneous speech. The database consists of 46 dialogs of approx. 25 minutes length each, between previously unacquainted female subjects. 22 dialogs were in a unimodal setting, where participants could not see each other, while the remaining 24 dialogs were recorded with subjects facing each other.

The database was automatically annotated on the segment, syllable and word level using forced alignment with manually generated orthographic transcriptions.

It was designed for investigating phonetic convergence and its correlation with personality traits and scores of mutual liking and esteem, but in general the data can be used to investigate various aspects of interlocutors' behaviour in free, spontaneous dialogs, possibly considering social aspects.

The database is freely available for non-commercial research.

New in version 1.1: We included TextGrids for convenience. There were also minor changes in the annotations resulting from fixing minor errors in the transcriptions. It is now possible to obtain parameters resulting from approximating the F0 contour on each syllable using the PaIntE model. They are not included in the standard release, but we are happy to provide them on request.

If you are interested and would like to obtain the database, please send an informal email to
geco AT ims.uni-stuttgart.de. We will then provide details on what we need for processing your request.

Contact: geco AT ims.uni-stuttgart.de

The GECO database is part of the CLARIN resources catalogue (click here for the catalogue entry).

Institut

Studium

Forschung


 

IMS GECO Datenbank

Typ Corpus
Titel IMS GECO Datenbank
Autor Antje Schweitzer, Natalie Lewandowski

Beschreibung

VERSION 1.1 VERFÜGBAR!!

GECO ist zur Untersuchung von Konvergenz in spontansprachlichen Dialogen gedacht. Die Datenbank besteht aus 46 Dialogen, die jeweils ca. 25 Minuten dauern. Die Gesprächspartner sind junge Frauen, die sich vorher nicht kannten. 22 Dialoge fanden in einem unimodalen Rahmen statt, d.h. die Partner konnten sich während des Gesprächs nicht sehen. Die restlichen 24 Dialoge wurden so aufgenommen, dass die Sprecherinnen sich sehen konnten. 

Die Datenbank wurde durch "Forced Alignment" mit manuell erstellten orthographischen Transliterationen auf Segment-, Silben- und Wortebene annotiert.

Die Datenbank wurde zur Untersuchung von Konvergenz und deren Korrelation mit Persönlichkeitsaspekten und gegenseitiger Einschätzung der Gesprächspartner erstellt, kann aber generell zur Untersuchung unterschiedlicher Aspekte des Gesprächsverhaltens zweier Partner in freien, spontansprachlichen Dialogen dienen, ggf. unter Berücksichtigung sozialer Aspekte.

Die Datenbank steht für nicht-kommerzielle Forschung frei zur Verfügung.

Neu in Version 1.1: Phonem-, Silben- und Wortlabels alternativ auch in TextGrids. Außerdem kleinere Änderungen inden orthographischen Transkriptionen, die Veränderungen in den Annotationen zur Folge haben, sowie veränderte automatische generierte Prosodielabelfiles. Wir bieten außerdem Ergebnisse einer PaIntE-Approximierung aller Silben an. Diese ist nicht Teil der Standard-Version, sondern werden auf Anfrage gerne zur Verfügung gestellt.

Bitte kontaktieren Sie bei Interesse geco AT ims.uni-stuttgart.de, eine informelle Mail genügt. Wir senden Ihnen dann Informationen zum weiteren Ablauf.

Kontakt: geco AT ims.uni-stuttgart.de

Die GECO Datenbank ist im CLARIN Ressourcenkatalog erfasst (der Katalogeintrag für GECO findet sich hier).