Institute

Studying

Research


 

Introduction

Since the winter semester 2009/2010 the Institute for Natural Language Processing offers the possibility to study the Bachelor program "Maschinelle Sprachverarbeitung" (MSV). This program of study imparts the basics of this subject within 6 semesters, including a first professional qualification with the title "Bachelor of Science". Topics of this program of study are natural languages like German and English and the computational processing of these natural languages. Thus, this program of study is located at the interface between human and computational engineering. Automatic processing of natural languages plays a central role in our modern information society, because using speech is the most natural and most widely used form of communication. However, a powerful automatic speech processing algorithm does not only need adequate formalisms and methods from computer science. It is also necessary to further develop our scientific understanding of the human speech processing to develop precise models which then can be tested using computers.

In the Bachelor program "Maschinelle Sprachverarbeitung" the required expert knowledge is taught in an interdisciplinary approach including Computer Science, Mathematics and Linguistics. It is very important to understand how the different parts of Linguistics and Computer Science complete one another in this program of study. The Bachelor MSV differs from similar programs that are more linguistically oriented in that here the linguistic as well as the computational aspects do really have the same weight during the study.

In its more theoretical conception this program of study concentrates on formal models of the very complex processes during the production and perception of verbal expressions. Here the basics of speech processing stand in the foreground, e.g. Lodics and Statistics, experimental Phonetics, Parsing, development of grammars, Semantics and formal knowledge representation.

In its more practical conception this program of study displays the basics for the solution of speech processing tasks. This topics includes automatic speech recognition and speech synthesis of spoken language, information extraction from texts, search engines, automatic translation systems as well as a general facilitation of the communication between humans and engines. The future aim is to enable the computer to understand and to produce speech comparable to human interactors.

This program of study needs students with talent or interests in two different areas: on the one hand, prospective students should be interested in questions concerning speech and communication in general, and on the other hand, they should have no fear to use computers for structural analyses and implementation of speech phenomena. in the elective parts of the program each student can make own specializations, for instance in the direction of Linguistics, Computer Science, or more in an application-oriented way. Knowledge of a programming language is not required - it can and will be learned during the first two semesters.

A possibility for further qualification offers our Master program "Computational Linguistics", which exists since the winter semester 2011/12.


Back to overview

Website of the Master program "ComputationalLinguistics"
Website of the student advice of the IMS

Institut

Studium

Forschung


 

Einleitung

Seit dem Wintersemester 2009/2010 bietet das Institut für Maschinelle Sprachverarbeitung der Universität Stuttgart den Bachelorstudiengang Maschinelle Sprachverarbeitung an. Dieser vermittelt in sechs Semestern die Grundlagen des Faches und eine erste Berufsqualifizierung mit dem Abschluss "Bachelor of Science". Gegenstand des Studiums sind natürliche Sprachen wie Deutsch und Englisch und deren Verarbeitung mit dem Computer. Im Rahmen der Informationstechnologie ist das Fach also an der Schnittstelle zwischen Mensch und Maschine angesiedelt. Die automatische Verarbeitung von natürlicher Sprache spielt in der modernen Informationsgesellschaft eine zentrale Rolle, da das Sprechen für den Menschen die naheliegendste und am weitesten verbreitete Form des Informationsaustausches ist. Eine leistungsfähige automatische Sprachverarbeitung erfordert dabei nicht nur geeignete Formalismen und Verarbeitungsmethoden aus der Informatik. Wissenschaftliche Grundlage ist insbesondere auch die Weiterentwicklung unseres Verständnisses von menschlicher Sprachverarbeitung mit formal präzisenTheorien und Modellen, die in Computersystemen überprüft werden können.

Der Bachelorstudiengang Maschinelle Sprachverarbeitung vermittelt das benötigte Fachwissen aus einem interdisziplinären Spektrum innerhalb der Informatik, der Mathematik und der Sprachwissenschaften. Besonders wichtig ist es zu verstehen, wie verschiedene Teilbereiche der Sprachwissenschaft und der Informatik einander ergänzen. Der Bachelor MSV unterscheidet sich von ähnlichen, stärker linguistisch orientierten Studiengängen dadurch, dass die sprachlichen und informatischen Aspekte des Studiums den gleichen Stellenwert haben.

In seiner theoretischen Ausrichtung konzentriert sich der Studiengang auf formale Modelle des komplexen Prozesses der Produktion und Perzeption sprachlicher Äußerungen. Hierbei stehen die Grundlagen der Sprachverarbeitung im Vordergrund, wie z.B. Logik und Statistik, experimentelle Phonetik, Parsing, Grammatikentwicklung, Semantik und formale Wissensrepräsentation.

In seiner anwendungsbezogenen Ausrichtung vermittelt der Studiengang die Grundlagen zur Lösung von Aufgaben der Sprachverarbeitung. Die Spannweite umfasst dabei die maschinelle Erkennung und Generierung gesprochener Sprache, die Informationsextraktion aus Texten, Suchmaschinen, automatische Übersetzungssysteme sowie die generelle Erleichterung der Mensch-Maschine-Kommunikation - mit dem Ziel, dass die Fähigkeit des Rechners, menschliche Sprache zu verstehen, in bestimmten Aspekten eines Tages an die des Menschen heranreicht.

Das Fach spricht Studierende mit einer Doppelbegabung an: mit Interesse an Fragen zu Sprache und Kommunikation einerseits und der Fähigkeit zu struktureller Analyse und Implementierung auf dem Computer andererseits. Eigene Akzente in Richtung Linguistik, Informatik oder Anwendungsorientierung können im Wahlbereich gesetzt werden. Programmierkenntnisse werden nicht vorausgesetzt und können in den ersten Semestern erworben werden.

Eine Aufbaumöglichkeit bietet der Masterstudiengang "Computational Linguistics", der vom IMS in Stuttgart seit dem Wintersemester 2011/12 angeboten wird.


Zurück zur Übersicht

Webseite des Masterstudiengangs "Computational Linguistics"
Webseite der Studienberatung des IMS