Institute

Studying

Research


 

Examination/Assessment

Back to overview

The overall assessment for the MSc comprises

  1. the module exams,
  2. the Master’s thesis,

weighted according to the regulations in the examination statutes (see page 14 of the official document, in German, which can be found here).

Module exams

In general there is one exam for each module. The two Concentrations usually have an oral exam, in addition to any "Vorleistungen" associated with the courses used for the Concentration. Other modules may require written or oral exams (PL), graded courses assessments (BSL), or graded course accompanying exams (LBP). For details please see the module handbook of the current semester. Up to 9 LP can be acquired through ungraded qualifications (USL) according to the examination regulations. Students have to register for all module exams (and also for all repetition exams, if necessary; to be done at the next possible date) during the official registration period (usually some weeks after the beginning of the semester) via the LSF.

Module table

In the Computational Linguistics Master Program at IMS, the assignment of courses to modules is relatively flexible, particularly in case of the Concentrations or larger Electives modules. To ensure that no course is used for more than one module, students are required to keep track of the modules they have completed and the courses they used for these modules in a table. This table is referred to as the module table in the following. A template for the module table is provided by the IMS (download OpenOfffice / Excel / PDF; further instructions inside the document). Students have to regularly upload their current module table (incrementally; keep the electronic copy saved, then you can just add more to it in the following semester).
Before the results of exams can be entered into the LSF in Concentration or Elective modules, students are required to hand in (via ILIAS) a signed and scanned copy of the module table showing the entire list of courses and modules passed and registered up to that point.

The examiners will check

  • that no class has already been used for another module, and
  • whether any prerequisites ("Vorleistungen") required by the specific choice of class(es) have been fulfilled.

All copies of the module tables handed in will be stored at the IMS. The IMS will compare the different versions of the module table handed in by a student.

Important: Keeping the module table does not replace the usual registration process for exams. Sstudents can only take exams if they have properly registered during the official registration period.

Master's Thesis

The Master’s thesis is worth 30 credits and is usually written in the fourth term. In the Master's Thesis, students demonstrate their ability to work independently on a topic in Computational Linguistics and address a specific research question in a fixed period of time. They are expected to adhere to scientific standards and present the results adequately. An MSc in Computational Linguistics shows that the student has acquired the ability to work independently on scientific problems, to understand current theories and methods, and apply them in an informed way in complex situations, using the relevant background previously acquired in the course of the degree program.

Examination statutes (Prüfungsordnung)

The official Examination statutes (Prüfungsordnung) in German can be found here.
Further information in English is provided by the examination office here.

Back to overview

Institut

Studium

Forschung


 

Prüfungsleistungen

Zurück zur Übersicht

Die Masterprüfung besteht aus

  1. den einzelnen Modulprüfungen,
  2. der Masterarbeit.

Die Gewichtung der Teilleistungen erfolgt wie in den jeweiligen Prüfungsordungen beschrieben (PO 2011: Seite 14; PO 2017: Seite 17, siehe dazu hier).

Modulprüfungen

Grundsätzlich wird modulweise geprüft. Die Concentrations (PO 2011) werden in der Regel jeweils durch eine mündliche Prüfung abgeprüft, zusätzlich sind die in den für die Concentration angerechneten Kursen geforderten Vorleistungen zu erbringen. In anderen Modulen erfolgt die Abprüfung der Qualifikationsziele in der Regel durch schriftliche oder mündliche Prüfungen (PL), lehrveranstaltungsbegleitende Prüfungen (LBP) oder durch benotete Studienleistungen (BSL). Details hierzu können dem Modulhandbuch des aktuellen Semesters entnommen werden. Bis zu 9 Leistungspunkten in den Electives können gemäß der Prüfungsordnung PO 2011 als unbenotete Studienleistungen erbracht werden. Die Anmeldung zu allen Modulprüfungen (und auch zu ggf. notwendigen Wiederholungsprüfungen am jeweils nächstmöglichen Termin) erfolgt grundsätzlich im offiziellen Prüfungszeitraum (in der Regel wenige Wochen nach Semesterbeginn) über C@MPUS.

Modul-Tabelle

Im Master Compuational Linguistics ist die Zuordnung von Kursen zu Modulen relativ flexibel, insbesondere bei den Concentrations oder im Fall einiger größere Electives-Module. Um Missverständnisse zu vermeiden, sind die Studierenden laut Prüfungsordnung verpflichtet, eine schriftliche Aufstellung (Modul-Tabelle) über die absolvierten Kurse sowie über deren Zuordnung zu den entsprechenden Modulen zu führen und regelmäßig zu aktualisieren (inkrementell; wenn eine elektronische Kopie gespeichert wird, kann diese im nächsten Semester einfach ergänzt werden). Ein Template dieser Modul-Tabelle wird vom IMS zum Download bereitgestellt (inklusive Detail-Anleitung):

PO 2011: OpenOffice / Excel / PDF
PO 2017: OpenOffice / Excel / PDF

Jeder Studierende muss bis zum Ende des Prüfungsanmeldezeitraums des jeweiligen Semesters eine unterschriebene Kopie der Modul-Tabelle, die den vollständigen bisherigen Studienverlauf dokumentiert, eingescannt über ILIAS einreichen, ansonsten können keine Noten verbucht werden.

Der Prüfer / Die Prüferin kontrolliert,

  • dass keiner der Kurse bereits für ein anderes Elective-Modul oder eine andere Concentration verwendet worden ist, und
  • ob eventuell verlangte Vorleistungen für die entsprechende Prüfung erfüllt wurden.

Für jeden Studierenden werden alle eingereichten Modul-Tabellen am IMS abgelegt und mit den vorhandenen vorherigen Versionen abgeglichen.

Bitte beachten: Das Führen der Modul-Tabelle ersetzt in keinem Fall die reguläre Prüfungsanmeldung. Prüfungen können nur abgelegt werden, wenn sich die Studierenden dafür während des offiziellen Prüfungsanmeldezeitraums registriert haben.

Masterarbeit

Die Masterarbeit wird in der Regel im 4. Semester erstellt. Sie soll zeigen, dass innerhalb einer vorgegebenen Frist eine Aufgabenstellung aus dem Bereich Computational Linguistics selbständig nach wissenschaftlichen Methoden bearbeitet und die Ergebnisse sachgerecht dargestellt werden können. Mit der MSc-Arbeit werden 30 Leistungspunkte erworben. 

Prüfungsordnung

Die Prüfungsordnung für den Master in Computational Linguistics finden Sie hier; weitere Informationen des Prüfungsamts hier.

Zurück zur Übersicht